I AM Jehovah

Posted: March 21, 2011 in Bible Related, Did you know?
Tags: , , , , ,

There are many occasions in the Bible when God is asked what His name is. The response: I AM. A great example can be found in Exodus 3:14-15. Think about having a name like I AM. Skeptics often scoff at such a name, that such a name is ridiculous because it doesn’t distinguish yourself from anyone else. But they’re missing the point.

God claims consistently throughout the Bible that He alone is God, and there are no other gods. He has no equal. There is nothing else like Him. He is sovereign and supreme. So when He says I AM for a name, He’s making a statement. He doesn’t need a distinguishing name because there is no other to distinguish Him from. He reins alone as the only God.

But doesn’t God go by the name Jehovah as well? Isn’t that where Jehovah’s Witnesses come from? Yes, that is the name for God. But I thought He didn’t need a name? Well, the name Jehovah is the English translation for the name Yahweh. Yahweh is Hebrew for “I cause to be,” or “I am what I am.”[1] So when you hear the name Jehovah used to name God, it’s just another way of referring to Him as I AM.


[1] J. Stephen Lang, 1001 Things You Always Wanted to Know About the Bible.  (New York:NY Barnes & Noble, Inc. 2010) Pg 452.

Leave a Reply

